Intro…

Hi!

My name is Amanda and this is my Border Beat Blog!

I’m a senior at the University of Arizona, majoring in journalism and minoring in Mexican American studies. I like to combine my two subjects, so for my blog this semester I’ll be looking at various universities across the U.S. (especially border states) that have departments and schools teaching border studies. For example, here at the UA we have the Department of Mexican American & Raza Studies. They are “committed to contemporary applied public policy research on Mexican Americans,” according to their Web site. Two professors in the department, Roberto Dr. Cintli Rodriguez and Patrisia Gonzalez have journalism roots. They also have a Web site, Column of the Americas, which regularly produces articles on various topics (including immigrations, human/civil rights, indigenous issues, etc.)

I’ll update here about interesting research, classes, student projects, etc., that are going on around universities.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Intro…

  1. Patricia Roth

    I enjoyed reading your blog message, Amanda. I’m looking forward to your comments.

Leave a comment